If you have been diagnosed with Celiac disease, it may feel like your life has been thrown upside down. You will need to find out about gluten free foods: a complete list is preferred. There are lots of things you can't eat anymore, and you suddenly have to monitor labels more than ever before. Fortunately, while a gluten free diet is certainly restrictive, it isn't the end of the world. In fact, you should see it as an opportunity to get creative in the kitchen.

Some Guidelines for Checking Out Gluten Free Foods: A Complete List

You must learn to understand the foods that you have to avoid. Luckily, there are now many non-gluten alternatives that you can choose from as well. Try to create a file with things that you can and cannot eat, and start writing down recipes. Below is an extensive list of gluten free foods, but it is by no means an exhaustive list. As you will be able to see, there are plenty of options available to you.

Foods Containing Gluten That You Should Avoid:

  • bread rolls
  • bread
  • pumpernickel
  • rye bread
  • pretzels
  • yorkshire puddings
  • muffins
  • cakes
  • pie crust
  • pastry
  • cookies
  • biscuits
  • bulgur wheat
  • crisp breads
  • couscous
  • durham
  • scones
  • semolina, bran
  • breadcrumbs
  • sponge puddings
  • malted drinks
  • barley water drinks
  • muesli

Replace these with non-gluten alternatives such as: breakfast cereals, pizza, crumble toppings, paste, pancake, and stuffing that are listed as being gluten free. Some products may also contain gluten, so always check the label. These include:

  • luncheon meat
  • sausages
  • gravy powders
  • blue cheeses
  • shredded suet
  • matzo flour
  • hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • seitan
  • farina
  • baked beans
  • self basting turkey
  • meat and fish pastes
  • communion wafers
  • pates
  • soups
  • instant coffee
  • mustard
  • cheap chocolate
  • brown rice syrup
  • soy sauce
  • potato chips
  • licorice
  • drinking chocolate
  • pickles
  • chutney
  • curry powder
  • salad dressing
  • white pepper
  • supplements
  • malt vinegar
  • toothpaste
  • lipstick
  • medication

The label will tell you whether the product is gluten free or not.

Looking for Gluten Free Foods? A Complete List Is Below:

Fruits And Vegetables:

While the above may make it look as if you can't eat anything anymore, there are also plenty of things that you can eat. Best of all, these are very healthy. Vegetables like asparagus, artichoke, broccoli, beans, celery, carrots, cucumber, corn, kale, garlic, mushrooms, lettuce, onions, okra, peppers, peas, radish, potatoes, sweet potatoes, spinach, and turnip are all fine. The same is true for fruits like apples, blueberries, bananas, dates, cranberries, grapes, figs, lemons, kiwis, oranges, limes, plums, passion fruits, strawberries, raspberries, watermelons, and tangerines.


You don't have to go completely vegetarian if you have to eat gluten free either. Acceptable meats include buffalo, beef, duck, chicken, pork, lamb, veal, turkey, and venison. And you can also have plenty of dairy products like cheese, butter, yogurt, and milk. Eggs are fine as well.


In terms of grains, the big no-no in gluten free diets, there are some safe options as well. Flour made from almonds, beans, corn, peas, potatoes, and soy are all fine. Brown rice, corn starch, buckwheat, flaxseed, dal, millet, and rice are also fine.


In terms of drinks, you have plenty of options as well. These include fresh ground coffee, champagne, fruit juice, soda, milk, tea, vodka, wine coolers, and so on. In fact, you can even buy some prepared foods, although you should check to ensure that they are made for people with a gluten intolerance, as you have to be careful about cross contamination.