If you want to avoid gluten, either for personal reasons or for health reasons, you need to know about the most popular foods to avoid that contain gluten. Technically, you should avoid anything that isn’t nuts, legumes, beans, dairy, seafood, fish, poultry, meat, vegetables, or fruit. However, there are other options as well. For instance, you can now purchase barley grass and pure wheat grass, which are completely gluten free – except for the seeds! What this means is that you can only eat them if there has been no contamination.

Most Popular Foods to Avoid that Contain Gluten:

Most people think that all grains contain gluten. However, there are plenty of grains that are gluten-free as well. The problem is once again, the risk of contamination. However, you should be able to consume potato, soy, maize, corn, cassava, beans, tapioca, quinoa, sorghum, buckwheat groats (or kasha), millet, amaranth, arrowroot, flax, teff, yucca, chia, and nut flours.

Oats are some of the most popular foods to avoid that contain gluten. However, it is now possible to purchase gluten-free oats as well. Grains, meanwhile, are usually a no-go area because they are more likely to have been cross-contaminated by other products that do contain gluten.

Avoiding Gluten:

It is possible to avoid gluten with reasonable ease. Most grocery stores now sell a range of gluten-free products to help people maintain their diet. Furthermore, if you consume foods that haven’t been processed and that are based on wholesome food groups, you should be able to avoid gluten as well.

A key issue to remember is that “wheat free” and “gluten free” are not the same thing at all. This can be very confusing, and you won’t be the first to have made the mistake of believing something that is free from wheat is also free from gluten. Some have called this behavior irresponsible on the part of food manufacturers, but they have simply told people to read the labels.

How to Read a Label:

Gluten is commonly found in cereals, but not all cereals contain this particular protein. Look for “gluten free” labels on the cereal boxes, therefore. Do watch out for malt extract of flavoring, commonly found in puffed rice cereal or cornflakes. They contain gluten. Thus, always make sure that you read the label.

You also have to be wary of oats because they are generally recovered in such a way that the oats get covered in wheat and, therefore, are contaminated with gluten. Gluten can be found just about everywhere, which is why your starting point should be to determine whether you simply want to avoid gluten because you believe it will benefit your health overall, or because you actually have an illness that forces you to avoid it. In the latter case, a physician, dietitian, and nutritionist should work with you determine which treatment is the most effective of all. This may also include receiving food on prescription. If you simply choose to avoid gluten, you will need to learn to read labels and take the time to find out for yourself what are the most popular foods to avoid that contain gluten.